Search Here Questions and Answers about Education and Jobs!

Featured Post

How to revise complete course in one month for CBSE Class 10th and CBSE Class 12th Exam

Revision matters for successful academic examination. Exam time revision means no new lessons but re-reading the chapters and topics you pre...

Thursday, December 28, 2017

The Parliament of India

  • The Parliament of India is the supreme legislative body in India.
  • The Parliament of India founded in 1919.
  • The Parliament alone possesses legislative supremacy and thereby ultimate power over all political bodies in India.
  • The Parliament comprises the President of India and the two Houses—Lok Sabha (House of the People) and Rajya Sabha (Council of States).
  • The President has the power to summon and prorogue either House of Parliament or to dissolve Lok Sabha.
  • India's Parliament is bicameral; Rajya Sabha is the upper house and Lok Sabha is the lower house. The two Houses meet in separate chambers in Sansad Bhavan (located on the Sansad Marg), New Delhi.
  • The candidates elected or nominated (by the President) to either house of Parliament are referred to as Members of Parliament or MPs.
  • The MPs of Lok Sabha are directly elected by the Indian public and the MPs of Rajya Sabha are elected by the members of the State Legislative Assemblies, in accordance with proportional representation.
  • The Parliament is composed of 790 MPs, who serve the largest democratic electorate in the world.
  • An approximate total of 714 million Indians registered to vote in the 2009 general elections.

The main functions of parliament are :

  • legislation, within its jurisdiction;
  • amendments of the constitution;
  • approval of presidential ordinance and proclamation;
  • consideration of president addresses and messages;
  • considerations of various resolutions and motions;
  • social legislation.