Search Here Questions and Answers about Education and Jobs!

Featured Post

How to revise complete course in one month for CBSE Class 10th and CBSE Class 12th Exam

Revision matters for successful academic examination. Exam time revision means no new lessons but re-reading the chapters and topics you pre...

Thursday, December 28, 2017

The Union council of Ministers

  • The Cabinet of India (officially called the Union Council of Ministers of India ) is the collective decision-making body of the Government of India.
  • The Union council consists of the Prime Minister and 35 Cabinet Ministers, the most senior of the government ministers. The Cabinet is the ultimate decision-making body of the executive within the Westminster system of government in traditional constitutional theory.
  • The Prime Minister is Head of the Union Council appointed by the President.
  • Other ministers of the council are appointed by the President on advice from Prime Minister.
  • All Cabinet members are mandated by the constitution to be members of either House of the Parliament of India.
There are three categories of ministers, in descending order of rank:

Union Cabinet Minister
– senior minister in-charge of a ministry. A cabinet minister may also hold additional charges of other Ministries, where no other Cabinet minister is appointed.
Minister of State (Independent Charges) – with no overseeing Union cabinet minister for that portfolio.
Minister of State (MoS) – junior minister with to overseeing cabinet minister, usually tasked with a specific responsibility in that ministry. For instance, an MoS in the Finance Ministry may only handle taxation.