University Grants Commission (UGC)

The University Grants Commission (UGC) of India is Apex Body to look of University Education in India. This organization comes under the purview of Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD) of Government of India.

The UGC was established under UGC Act 1956 for standardization of higher education in the country. Its Head Office is New Delhi and Regional Offices are located in Pune, Bhopal, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Guwahati and Bangalore.

With due support from University Grants Commission (UGC) the Accreditation of Higher Education in country is administered by following autonomous bodies

  • All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE)
  • Distance Education Council (DEC)
  • Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)
  • Bar Council of India (BCI)
  • National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE)
  • Rehabilitation Council of India (RCI)
  • Medical Council of India (MCI)
  • Pharmacy Council of India (PCI)
  • Indian Nursing Council (INC)
  • Dental Council of India (DCI)
  • Central Council of Homoeopathy (CCH)
  • Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM)
  • Rehabilitation Council
  • National Council for Rural Institutes
  • State Councils of Higher Education
  • Council of Architecture

The Universities in India are classified as Government Universities and Private Universities. Furthermore, classifications also found as Central Universities, State Universities, Deemed Universities, Deemed to be Universities, Autonomous Universities. The University Grants Commission (UGC) provides affiliation to all type of Universities in India.

The UGC has established 4 National Facilities Centre in following universities

Western Regional Instrumentation Centre, Mumbai, Mumbai University
M.S.T. Radar Facilities, Sri Venkateshwar University, Tirupati
Inter University Centre for Humanities and Social Sciences IUCHSS, Indian Institute of Advanced Study, Shimla
Crystal Growth Centre, Anna University, Madras

The UGC has following Inter University Centres (IUC)

  • Inter University Accelerator Centre (IUAC)
  • Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astro-Physics (IUCAA)
  • UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research
  • Consortium for Educational Communication (CEC)
  • Information and Library Network Centre (INFLIBNET)
  • Inter University Centre for International Studies (IUCIS)
    • Osmania University Campus Hyderabad
  • National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC)

For more details about University Grants Commission (UGC) of India follow the link

Related Articles

Universities in India

No comments:

Post a Comment