Skip to main content

Working of Constituent Assembly

  • December 9, 1946 : The first meeting of Constituent Assembly was held in the constitution hall(now 'Central Hall of Parliament House'). Demanding a separate state, the Muslim League boycotted the meeting. Dr.Sanchidanand Sinha was elected as temporary President of Assembly following the French practice.
  • December 11, 1946 : Elected Dr.Rajendra Prasad and H.C.Mukherjee as the President and Vice-President of the Assembly respectively. Appointed Sir B.N.Rau as Constitutional advisor to the Assembly.
  • December 13, 1946 : 'Objective Resolution' was introduced by Jawaharlal Nehru. Underlying principles of Constitution were laid by Objective Resolution.
  • January 22, 1947: Unanimously adopted the Objective Resolution.
  • May 1949: It ratified India's membership of the Commonwealth.
  • July 22, 1947: Adopted the national flag.
  • January 24, 1950: Adopted the national anthem, national song. Elected Dr. Rajendra Prasad as the first president of India.
Assembly was chaired by Dr. Rajendra Prasad whenever it met as Constituent body and by G.V.Mavlankar when it met as the legislative body. Constituent Assembly completed the task of drafting Constitution in 2 years, 11 months and 17 days. The total expenditure incurred was Rs.64 lakh.


Popular posts from this blog

B.Arch Colleges in Uttar Pradesh (UP)

List of Colleges in Uttar Pradesh (UP) for Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch) Program

Faculty of Architecture
Gautam Buddh Technical University

Tagore Marg
LUCKNOW-226 007 (Uttar Pradesh)
Ph: 0522-2740236 (EPBX), 2740152 (Office)
Fax: 0522-2740152

B.Arch Colleges in Kerala

List of Colleges in Kerala for Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch) Program

School of Architecture
College of Engineering
Engineering College P.O.
Tel. (O): 0471-2515565,2515538
Fax: 0471-2598370