Showing posts with label msc mathematics. Show all posts
Showing posts with label msc mathematics. Show all posts

National Board of Higher Mathematics Mumbai

Scholarships for Pursuing Post Graduate Studies (M.A. / M.Sc.) in Mathematics

The National Board for Higher Mathematics (NBHM) invites applications for the grant of scholarships to students for pursuing studies for M.A. / M.Sc. degree in mathematics.

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must be motivated B. A. / B. Sc. first class degree holders, or students, who have appeared for B. A. / B. Sc. final year examination and expect a bachelors degree with first class, or B.Sc. (honours) degree holders with at least second class, or students who have appeared for B. Sc. (honours) final year examination and expect a B. Sc. (honours) degree with at least second class.

Students who have completed three years of an integrated M. Sc. course with cumulative grades equivalent to first class are eligible to apply. Students with good academic record and who are in M.Sc. ( Part -I) or in the fifth year of a 5 year integrated M.Sc. course are also eligible to apply.

Applicants should be below the age of 23 years as on January 1, 2011. Exceptional cases, however, may be considered on merit.

Application Procedure

Applications on plain paper should be made in the format. They
should be sent in duplicate along with a recent passport size photograph attached to each copy and a self-addressed envelope to the appropriate person for the Zone in which the candidate wishes to appear for the written test. The envelope containing the application should be super—scribed "NBHM M.A. / M. Sc. Scholarships".

Addresses of persons (zonal coordinators) to whom the applications should be sent, are given below.

Two centers where the candidate could appear for the written test must be clearly indicated giving the order of preference. While it is not guaranteed that a centre of a candidate’s choice will be allotted, every
effort will be made to do so. Under exceptional circumstances, a candidate may be allotted a center from the zone, which is not from those indicated by the candidate.

Zone 1:
Prof. Gurumeet Kaur Bakshi, Department of Mathematics,
Punjab University, Hans Raj Gupta Hall, Chandigarh 160 014.

Zone 2:
Dr Kalyan Chakraborty, Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Chhatnag Road, Jhusi, Allahabad 211 019.

Zone 3:
Prof. Nitin Nitsure, School of Mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Homi Bhabha Road, Colaba, Mumbai - 400 005.

Zone 4:
Prof. S.C. Bagchi, Stat-Math Unit, Indian Statistical Institute, 203 B.T. Road, Kolkata 700 108.

Zone 5:
Prof. S. Kesavan, Institute of Mathematical Sciences, CIT Campus, Taramani, Chennai – 600 113

Contact Info

Department of Atomic Energy, Anushakti Bhawan, CSM Marg, Mumbai – 400 001

Last date for receipt of form: 01 August 2011

Entrance Date: 24 September 2011

The Scholarship : Successful candidates will be eligible to receive a scholarship of Rs. 6,000/- (Rs. six thousand only) per month, during their two-year (one-year if the student is granted the scholarship during the second year) M.A. / M. Sc. programme. The scholarships are sanctioned for one year at a time and are renewable at the end of the year, subject to satisfactory progress. Students who are in M.Sc. (Part-l) or in the fifth year of a 5 year integrated M.Sc. course will get the scholarship only for one year.

To avail of the scholarship the students have to be enrolled in an appropriate institution, in India, for an M.A. / M.Sc. degree in Mathematics. The scholarship will be paid through the institution they join.

Selection Procedure

Selection will be made on the basis of a written test followed by interview of short-listed candidates. The written test will be held on Saturday, September 24, 2011. The questions will be primarily in the areas of Algebra, Analysis and Geometry. The test will be for two and half hours and involve questions with short answers. (Please visit for question papers for some earlier years.)

The written test will be conducted at the following centres:

Zone 1 : Chandigarh, New Delhi
Zone 2 : Allahabad, Indore, Jabalpur
Zone 3 : Mumbai, Goa, Pune, Vallabh Vidyanagar
Zone 4 : Kolkata, Bhubaneswar, Guwahati,_Ranchi, Shilong
Zone 5 : Chennai, Bangalore, Cochin, Hyderabad

Important Dates

September 2, 2011 : The applicant should contact the zonal coordinator to whom the application was sent, if he/she does not receive a communication about the test (or hall-ticket) by this date.

September 12, 2011 : The applicant must Contact the Centre suggested by the zonal coordinator if the applicant does not receive a hall ticket by this date.

Powered by